Job Searching: What is the Best Job for you?

Okay, here’s  my situation: I graduated from college about five months ago with a major in Anthropology and a minor in English.  Before the economy spit in everyone’s eyes, I had planned on being a Museum Educator, someone who designs educational curriculum for groups coming through a museum setting, in hopes of maximizing their educational experience… Four years ago, this would have been an attainable job, with only a bachelors degree, now, you will not be considered a qualified candidate without five years experience, and a PhD!

So, what’s a girl to do?

Go back to school?

No… After spending the last five years of my life stressed and panicked about doing well, I can honestly say that going back to school is not at the top of my list right now. So, what now?

I decided to start this blog in attempt to form almost an online support group for recent graduates searching for work in a tough economy.  Living in a new town, on the other side of The United States, with no friends, doing my job search in my house every day, I was beginning to feel alone, stressed and let’s face it, a little hopeless.  I know that I’m not the only one struggling to find something that will not only keep me in shoes, but will also give me a sense of satisfaction. I want to find pleasure in my work. So what’s the next step?

After trolling the interwebs for advice, I recalled doing a personality test in high school to determine what would be the best job for me. So, with that in mind, I found several personality tests that might help you to at least narrow down what you could be good at…Or at least, not hate.

Okay, I have to say, I find that the Jung & Briggs Myer Assessments tend to be very accurate, about who you are, and how you relate to others… Like most anthropologists, I love typology and classification, so the Briggs Myers Test is good in my book.

Here, you will find the Jung Career Indicator Test.  It will ask you a series of simple, and yet somehow complicated yes or no questions to figure out what career you are most suited for, and what jobs could make you happy.  When I took the test, I tested as an INFJ, for those of you who are not acquainted with Jung and Briggs Myer tests, I am an Introverted Intuitive Feeling Judger. According to this test,  I would be best working as an educator, social worker,librarian, lawyer,early childhood education,psychology, counseling,design, or science.  I have to say, some of these job choices are ones that I could potentially be interested in, and most likely good at. I have considered being a counselor on multiple occasions,  but had not previously wanted to do further education.  Perhaps I will feel more inclined to continue my education when i’m months into my job search without a job. We’ll see… Anywho, the thing I like about this test, is it’s pretty accurate about what kind of person you are (if you answer the questions honestly).  Take the test, see what you think.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I think that these tests results should be taken with a grain of salt.  You will not necessarily be happy in any of the positions Jung thinks you would be great in.  This is why it is also important to make lists of things you like and dislike.  Assess your key strengths, and begin to compile lists of  jobs that might be good for you.

Tune in next time, as I make my list of  strengths, and dream jobs!

xoxo

Katie

Leave a Reply

