Meet my Family

I figured that it was time for you to meet my family officially.  We are a small family, just myself, Brendan my husband, and Dexter the Dog. Here we are below:

Before Brendan and I got married (three and half months ago) and moved to New Jersey, I made him promise me that we would get a puppy, so that I wouldn’t miss my parent’s dog quite so much.  We found Dex through SOS Beagle Rescue, a great non-profit that operates out of Southern NJ, Alabama and Tennessee.  We could not have been luckier with Dexter, he has been a source of great joy and entertainment.

Look at that face!!

This dog is such a little love. Very playful, loving, and naughty in the extreme.

Here is an example of how naughty this dog is:

  Poor Dexter, I guess he can’t resist my rain boots…After being fussed at, he moved on to Brendan’s flip flops… The beagle loves shoes- yet another characteristic that let’s me know that he fits in well here.

Dexy is the best dog ever, you should come over and pet him- you will agree. You don’t live in New Jersey? I’m very sorry for you. He is the best.

Brendan is an Economics professor at a local college in South Jersey, and is so far loving his job, which he just started four months ago.  He is an exceedingly excellent educator who cares about his students- even as he yells at them to really learn how to graph.  He has the best sense of humor, and can always make me laugh. He is kind, generous, and helps me take myself a little less seriously. He’s my best friend.

Brendan and I met in college as he was finishing his Ph.D. and I was an undergrad.  I will share our love story some other time, but suffice to say, we became friends, and after a few years of friendship, and after telling him, “no,” a few times, our relationship grew and flourished into a beautiful love story. There is nothing quite so wonderful as falling asleep at night holding hands with your best friend.

Here is a picture from our wedding.  In case you are wondering, these pictures were taken by Lauren Button of ElleBee Photography .  If you live in the Southwest, Arizona area and need pictures, Lauren is your girl!

And this is me, Katie. I am a lover of fashion, film, and cooking. I love 1960’s french pop, and La Nouvelle Vauge. I am tad bit obsessed with Pinterest, and I love surfing the interwebs for beautiful things.  I love Anthropologie, and anthropology. I spent the last five years of my life in college soaking up information on Native Americans of the Southwest, evolutionary forces that shaped women’s bodies, and have a deep and abiding love for Greek and Roman art and architecture.  I’m the kind of person who cries (just a little bit) when I see something beautiful, and often laughs at inappropriate things.  Love The Smiths, and indie films…That is me in a nutshell.

Tell me about yourself? I’d love to meet you, too. : )

xoxo,

Katie

4 thoughts on “Meet my Family

    • I’m glad you liked my blog Aunt Gaila. I’m having fun with my blog, and it’s a nice way to keep people updated. I’m really looking forward to seeing you this summer!
      love you too,
      Katie

Leave a Reply

