Moonrise Kingdom: Le Temps de l’Amour

Have you seen the trailer for Wes Anderson’s latest film, Moonrise Kingdom? I have been super excited about this movie from the moment I heard another Anderson pic was in the works and that TILDA SWINTON was going to be in it.  I have always liked Tilda Swinton, but her work in Luca Guadagnino’s I am Love cinched it for me, and now I love her.  In case you have not seen I am Love  it is still on instant-view on Netflix.  I am Love is a visual feast.  It’s sumptuous, rich and sinfully good.  Do yourself a favor and go see it! Anywho, back to Moonrise Kingdom,  this film is particularly exciting because not only is this Anderson’s first period piece (set in the 1960’s), but it is also his first to star children Jared Gilman and Kara Hayward. Before you start to think that this film is a children’s movie, note that it is rated PG-13, so it is definitely still catering toward adults.

"I'll be out back. I have a tree to chop down"

Anderson got some of the proverbial band back together. Jason Schwartzman and Bill Murray- you almost can’t have a Wes Anderson film without them.  He also brought in Bruce Willis, Edward Norton,Frances McDormand and Harvey Keitel (Really? Harvey Keitel I suppose stranger things have happened).

The film deals with two twelve year-old’s falling in love and making a pact to run away together.  Various groups on the small New England island band together to find them,when a storm blows into town.  Craziness and that delightful Andersonian quirkiness ensues as the town is turned upside-down, and it seems as if that might not be such a bad thing.

Here is the movie trailer:

What is your favorite Wes Anderson film? Also, here are some pictures of Brendan and I at a Wes Anderson party my best friend Stephanie threw (she is the coolest).

"I think we're just gonna to have to be secretly in love with each other and leave it at that, Ritchie. "

We had a lot of fun at that party.  Which is why I will be dressing up in my best vintage duds in celebration of Moonrise Kingdom when I go to see it opening night.

Have a great weekend!!

Oh, if you were wondering who sang that delightful song in the trailer, that would be French chanteuse Francoise Hardy, “Le Temps De l’Amour.

Enjoy!

xoxo,

Katie

10 thoughts on “Moonrise Kingdom: Le Temps de l’Amour

    • You know, I thought that is sounded very familiar, but now that you mention it, it certainly does sound like the P&P soundtrack before they play Francoise Hardy song.. I’ll try to find out what that music was. Thanks for checking out my blog Layna. : )

  1. I’m unbelievably excited!!!!! I wish we were in the same city so that we could see it together. The other songs in the Soundtrack are both pieces by Benjamin Britten. I’m not sure what the name of the first one is. I know it has something to do with a Cookoo, but the final song is the opening to The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra. BTW your blog is great!

    • Say what?! That is so cool. The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra is so iconic. I cannot wait to see and hear this movie! It would be great to be able to see this movie with you, Callie. It makes me a little sad. Oh, and by the way, I’m in the middle of Storm of Swords, and I am DYING. The body count is getting ridiculously high now. Ahhh!

      • Dude have you gotten to the Red Wedding yet? Call me, we’ll talk, I’m not doing anything tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

