Anthropologie Fresh Cuts

It’s that time again! It’s Tuesday, and you know what that means: Anthropologie Fresh Cuts!  Here is a run down of some of the fresh cut sale items, as well as a few lovelies that were previously on sale.

I’ll be honest, I was a bit disappointed with this weeks fresh Cuts.  They still featured two of the garments I talked about last week.  Here are some new listings…

This Fading Stitch Pullover, comes in yellow as well as grey. Unfortunately they only have XL’s left on the website, but it might be that you can find this sweater in stores on sale now. Here’s what people are saying about it:

1.Such A Pretty Pullover

Pros: color, style
Cons: dry clean only

I was first drawn to blend of sky blue colors of this pullover sweater. The look and feel is soft and feminine. Because of the delicate weave, extra care is needed not to snag it on anything. I bought a size up for longer length in the torso. The price is right for this one, too.

2.Soft and beautiful

Pros: color shape versatility

I first noticed this sweater in the catalog and was intrigued; when I saw it in the store, I loved it. I purchased the gold color which I think compliments my fair skin and blonde hair well. It is very soft and somewhat sheer–nothing a cami can’t cure. And whenever I wear it, I receive compliments, from family, friends, strangers, and even my dentist! Overall, a great purchase.

3.Too short

This sweater may look good on someone who’s shorter and not so busty. Did not look good on me. It went back…

Verdict: This is a lovely sweater, but not good for busty ladies.

This whimsical little number isGraphic Flutters Dress is now on sale for $139.95, down from $278.00.

1. I love this dress!!!

I’m ecstatic that this dress went on sale as quickly as it did. I really wanted to check it out but I just couldn’t be moved to pay the original price. I am fine with the sale price, because this dress is great. The fit is super- it fits like a glove. I am a bit hippy in the hips, that is- and this dress isn’t too snug or ill-fitting in that area like some other dresses cut in a similar sheath type way. There’s extra room there to accommodate curves. The fabric is amazing- the print is so interesting. The colors are varied and all beautiful, you could run wild with different colored accessories and footwear for this dress. I love the soft purple and the pops of electric teal/green, and the blues/greens here and there. The length was my perfect length- right below the knee. The dress is lined. It has pockets. Dry clean only- which for me is the only downside to this great dress.

Verdict: There are really too few reviews of this frock to really say, but it’s lined, and visually interesting.. What do you think?

The Scrawled Rain Blouse was the only Fresh Cut that I got really excited about this week. It is now on sale for $59.95, down from $118.00.

1. Clingy

This blouse has a lot going for it. I’m 5’7″ (23c-27-38) and the small worked well. It’s well made and a good length to cover the tops of jeans. The only drawback was that the silk stuck to my skin (static cling I guess) to the point that my skin color was showing through the white parts and it looked pink. Not sure if silk is compatible with anti-static cling spray so I passed. I’d recommend a strapless bra.

2. Try before you buy

Pros: shoulder design, pattern, colors, pure silk
Cons: boxy, size 0 too large
The actual top is different from the online photo. Nothing sticks out under the arms, instead the black shoulder strap continues like a facing around the armhole, which I think is actually a much better design.
I love the top, but not the fit on me. The silk is just thick enough not to show your bra, and the design and off-white background are just like the photo. Quality-wise it has lovely details like the silk-covered bottons at the bottom.
My problem was that I’m too short (barely 5’2″, long torso, narrow-shouldered 32-24-35) and sized out of even the size 0.
My shoulders fit the top and side straps with room to move, but the bust area was swimming. Also, the shape was boxy, very wide at the waist, and ended at my hip. Made me look very dumpy. I tried opening the buttons and belting, but that didn’t help. I think this will fit straighter figures much better.

Still, I love the pattern and shoulder style so much I may reconsider having it altered if it goes on sale. Or even better, maybe there will be a non-boxy dress version one day!

Verdict: This is a pretty top, with good quality material, but a bit boxy, and shear. I think you should definitely go to the store and try it on.

This last pick is not a fresh cut, but I love it, and wanted to share it with you.

The Garcia Dress is so beautiful.  The cut is classic, and the color is sassy. I’m thinking that this would make a superb Valentine’s Day dress. What do you think? Here’s what some people had to say:

1. Valentinesy perfect!

Pros: beautiful color, somewhat adjustable waist, incredible sale price

i love this dress! the color is a true candy apple red (not too orangey, not too winey, just RED, which is great.) it has a pretty, swishy skirt, and falls just below the knees on me. the top does run a bit big, so if you’re between sizes, or smallish busted, i’d advise sizing down. some people complained they felt it was TOO big up top, but the top is ruched, so i believe it’s meant to look fitted, yet also a bitsy-bit gathered and drapey. personally, i really like the look! as for the placement of the waist, just look carefully inside your dress when you get it, and you’ll notice an inner elastic waistband of sorts. you can arrange it so that the waist falls where you want it to, maybe so it sits a little higher or lower, depending on what works for your shape. it’s a formal-ish dressy dress, so i plan on wearing it for valentine’s day, but i also intend to dress it down for less-fancy occasions with a cozy cardigan, vintage brooch, and ballet flats. this was one of my very favorite purchases of the year! if you’re lucky enough to find one in your size for the sale price, i’d recommend that you snatch it up!

2. Nice Dress but top is too large

I like this dress and the feminine look of the skirt, however, the top was too large so I had to return it. Maybe if you size down it would work better.

3. Matronly on me

Pros: fabric
Cons: wrong fit for me

I ordered this online. I’m tall with wide shoulders and an hourglass/full figure. On me, the shoulders weren’t cut wide enough – they were in about 1-2 inches from my shoulders, which always looks dowdy on my body type. The horizontal gathers on the bodice added bulk around my waist, and the skirt was full and just past the knee. So the overall effect was kind of dumpy bridesmaid.

4. Fits my Small Bust

I’ve always wanted this dress, so I freaked out and ordered this in the early morning when it first went on 50% sale. It got here in time for me to wear to a Christmas Eve party.
I got SO MANY COMPLIMENTS on this dress! It fit wonderfully. I am a 34A and so when I read all the “huge bust” reviews I thought, well, I’m screwed. But it actually fits me just fine at the bust. I do have a nice set of shoulders, so that may be where this supposed extra fabric went, but in my experience this dress has a very proportional chest. .
The waist was a little high at first, but there is this inner elastic strap that you’re meant to cinch underneath. Once I did that, I could scootch the seam down a little to exactly where my natural waist is, making this dress look tailored exactly to my figure.

I adore this dress. It’s now one of my absolute favorites, totally a special-occasion dress.

Verdict: Adjustable waist? Flattering cut? Truly red? Yes, I would like to own this one.. : )

So there you have it folks, my Anthro fresh cuts, and other sale items.

xoxo,

Katie

4 thoughts on “Anthropologie Fresh Cuts

Leave a Reply

