Valentine’s Day Planning Pt. 1: The Food

Howdy,

Can you believe that it’s almost February?  This month has just blown by, and now i’m starting to think about Valentines Day. This year will our first Valentines Day as a married couple; and I want to make it special. I have always put a lot of thought into our Valentines Day meal, spent hours de-veining shrimp, practiced making souffles (Wait… I thought it would be fluffier), surfed the web for what seemed like days to find the perfect chocolate dessert, the best veg, the most romantic meals…

*Sigh* I love planning, but sometimes it’s a bit of a hassle. That’s why this year when I saw that epicurious.com had made a Romantic Menu Planner that asks you a series of questions and then provides you with a wonderful meal plan.

When I took the quiz, my ideal match was:

Crabmeat, Apple, and Mango Salad on Cumin Apple Chips as our first course.

Maine Lobster with Wild Mushrooms and Rosemary Vapor…Rosemary vapor? Yes please! Look at that gorgeous dish.

As a dessert, they suggested I make  a Deconstructed Black Forest Cake… Fancy, right?

But I was thinking about making Lemon and White Chocolate Mousse Parfaits with Strawberries.  The mousse is so much lighter… Look at how pretty they are!

And you can’t forget the wine! I will be pairing it with a delicious Chardonnay- probably a nice California wine I was thinking 2009 Hess Select Chardonnay (that only I will drink, because BB doesn’t like wine… Maybe I could find a good beer to pair with lobster- more on possible beers later… Which I know nothing about. I think I’ll have to ask my brother who is a genius as far a brewing and beer goes).

I think that this is going to be our best Valentine’s Day yet! Tune in tomorrow for my next installment of Valentines Day Planning as I talk about Valentines Day inspired duds. : )

What are your plans for Valentines day?

xoxo,

Katie

One thought on “Valentine’s Day Planning Pt. 1: The Food

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Planning pt. 2: The Outfit | Twenty-Four

Leave a Reply

