Look Out! That Girl is Crafty: Modcloth Knockoff

Hello again,

When Brendan and I got married, I registered for a sewing machine, and three lovely women banded together and got me one! Since then I have meant to start on a major project, and this is what I’ve decided to do:

This charming little frock is going for $319.00 on modcloth.com, but thanks to Sew Weekly’s Make This Look, I am going to make it for significantly less than that.

Jayma May's of Glee is wearing my future dress

Make This Look is so awesome because it take popular frocks and finds a pattern similar to it so that folks who sew can make it! They also offer fabric suggestions. I have not decided what fabric to use, but if you tune in next Monday, I will have selected my fabric and will begin working on it.  Full disclosure: this is the first real dress I have ever made, but I am up to the challenge, and  I am looking for the opportunity to spit in ModCloth’s metaphorical eye.. Don’t get me wrong, I love ModCloth, but $319.00? That’s just too much. I would be more inclined to buy these or these lovelies on ModCloth.

If you are curious and want to see the other clothing that Make This Look has replicated, you’ll find them here.

Enjoy being crafty!

xoxo,

Katie

2 thoughts on “Look Out! That Girl is Crafty: Modcloth Knockoff

  1. What a great website! I will definitely pop by there on Friday’s to see what she does next! I love the idea of being able to make a dress that fits you perfectly for less than half the price of a popular dress being sold online or in stores. : )

Leave a Reply

