Anthropologie Fresh Cuts

Hi! I am super excited about this week’s Fresh Cuts, and I think you will be too!

Look at the adoreable bow deatil!

Tropica Jacquard Mini-Dress is so sweet.  The beautiful fabric (cotton) has a liner which is always a plus. This dress also comes with straps if you want the extra support, or prefer that look. It’s down from $198.00 to $99.95, and still has all sizes available in regular AND petite.  Here’s what people are saying about it:

1.Beautiful Print, BAAAAAD dress

Pros: print

Cons: shape

I love the print, but the fabric is thick and stiff like a canvas tote, not like a party dress! The bow on the front made my chest look crooked., and if you look carefully it is supposed to lay sideways. This isn’t very pretty in my opinion. It is well made, and the length isn’t too short. I also had some bunching at the waist from the zipper. Too bad!

2.Vaca Super Dress, 

Awesome fit, TTS and great fabric. This dress is perfect for mid winter vacation. I am 5’6”, 120 and I usually wear a 0, which is what I purchased. The sweetheart cut is very flattering for my average 34C sized bust but I would imagine it could be a little tight for more curvy figures.aca super dress,
3. Review

Pros: beautiful fabric very festive
Cons: bust is very small, not for an hourglass figure

I was so excited to try this dress on, but alas. The size six fit at the waist but the top was a mess – the bust is cut very small. The size eight was too big at the waist but fit at the bust. I’m a C cup, fyi. The other thing is that the bow on the top is asymmetrical and it as well as the pleating in the front stick out very awkwardly. The fabric is beautiful though. I think this would look great on someone with a straighter torso and smaller bust. Definitely try before you buy.

Verdict: It is really hard to get a a handle on what’s wrong with this dress because people are contradicting eachother, however, I think that it is safe to say that the color is lovely, but the cut of the dress works best for people who have a moderately size chest, and nicely rounded hips (but not too rounded!).

Isn’t she pretty? The Vicia Wrap Dress is darling and I want to wake up tomorrow and see it in my closet.  I love a good wrap dress; and this one is down from $288.00 to $149.95. Here’s what people are saying:

1. Gorgeous Dress

I bought this dress in a size 0 and it fits TTS. I am 5’3″ and 102 pounds. The colors are vivid and the craftsmanship of this dress is exquisite. It hits a little above my knee and drapes beautifully. It is extremely flattering, and although it does fall open a bit when sitting down, the gorgeous purple slip underneath is all that is seen and doesn’t look strange at all. I wore this with some brown boots and got a ton of compliments. Just lovely…

2. Almost perfect

I got this for Christmas, and as soon as I tried it on I thought it might be the best Anthro purchase I had ever made. The fabric is gorgeous, and the fit is really flattering. My usual size 4 worked perfectly. It has a separate lining, and unlike other Anthro dresses I’ve tried on where the lining was either too large or too small, this one fit perfectly.
However, I couldn’t give it perfect marks. There’s a slight construction issue which I only noted as soon as I sat down in the dress. As soon as I sit down, the skirt sorta falls open and doesn’t stay closed, so everyone can pretty much see the slip underneath. I’ve not had this problem to this degree with any other wrap dresses. I think whoever made it didn’t cut the skirt portion large enough to fully wrap around the body. When I’m standing it’s not a problem. When I’m sitting I’m constantly struggling to keep the skirt closed so that I’m not flashing everybody. It’s definitely not a size issue, as the rest of it fits perfectly.

I’m not quite sure how to get around this problem. If it’s not an issue for you, I say go ahead and buy it, since it is really beautiful. Maybe other people will have better luck. However, for nearly $300 you might want something that is more exacting in its fit and construction. If I hadn’t received this for Christmas, I’d have to ask myself if the discomfort of struggling with the dress whenever I’m sitting down is annoying enough for me to return it.

Verdict: The dress is beautifully made but you either need to be mindful of the gaping, or go to tailor and sort the problem out.

I love these kinds of shirts You know, the loose fitting flowy type? I have a buh-jillion in my closet. The Gauzy Gale Peasant top is  no exception to my love of these shirts, down from$118.00 to $59.95, this looks like a winner to me.  Here’s what people are saying:

1. Pretty but a little short

I am torn about this top, I loved it a soon as I saw it online and it is just as pretty in person, the red is a bit more rusty than it looks online but the embroidery looks exactly the same, the fabric is really soft and a bit sheer so I would wear a cami. I felt really good in this top, it stands out but is still relaxed and so comfortable. I’m usually a 12 I tried a 10 and it fit really well on top. The bottom of the top kind of flares out, it almost reminds me of a twirly little girl dress and that’s the part I’m not sure about, I think it would look amazing on someone with long thin legs but for me it hit just at the top of my thigh and I felt like it made my legs look shorter and stockier, like the top went wider right were my legs are widest, I don;t think I would mind the wide bottom if it was a little longer or the length if it wasn’t quite so wide. Overall I think it is a great top!
2. It certainly is gauzy!

Pros: embroidery, color
Cons: transparency

I took my usual XS and while the sleeves were a tad snug the blouse was still too “tenty” for me. It’s also very see through so whatever you wear on the bottom will show unless it’s the same color as the blouse.

Verdict: This top is your typical peasant top.  It is voluminous, and gauzy. If that is not your style, walk away.
Three words: Retro Nautical LOVE.Anthropologies’ Sea Lines Dress is so lovely. Brendan, if you’re reading this, I would very much like to have it. This seaworthy gal is down from $158.00 to $79.95. Here’s what people are saying:
1.Maybe not for us busty girls

Pros: adorable, color
Cons: fit

Adorable dress, but the triangle top didn’t work for me at all. I tried a Size 2 which fit perfectly in the waist and hips, but the bust was too tight and cut too low to be flattering.

2. Darling Nautical Dress!

Pros: fabric/print, length appropriate
I adore this dress. It is eye-catching at a minimum – lovely shades of blue, fun rope pattern intertwined with stripes and a unique cut. The halter style is a welcome change from the standard strapless dress.
The dress is even better on! At 5’9″, the dress is long enough to be respectable but not too long to be matronly. It hit me an inch or so above my knee (I have a long torso). I took a size 2 and it was comfortable and TTS – I have a small bust. I love how the back of the dress Vs slightly and the fabric is soft and drapes well.

Did I mention the dress has pockets? Awesome.

3. So adorable

very true to size, fabric is just slightly thinner than i expected. but fits very well on the shoulders and under the arms. perfect length, very zooey deschanel feel. can wear with layers and tights during the winter and booties or as a summer dress!

Verdict: Well folks, apparently this dress is amazing, as long as you have a moderately sized bust, you’ll be golden.
I love love love the detailing n this blouse. The Jaglion Blouse, by Leifsdottir is all kinds ogf velvety goodness. Down from $228.00 to $99.95.
This is odd, but no one has reviewd this top.. Probably because it was SO expensive. Get thee to an Anthropologie and try it on!
There are many other lovely Fresh Cuts on Anthrpologies website, these happen to be my favorite. Happy shopping (or dreaming in my case)!
xoxo,
Katie
6 thoughts on “Anthropologie Fresh Cuts

  1. It’s great isnt it? I love how we can just use the stuff we have lying around at home. Some of the ideas are really amazing! Can’t wait to see your finished duvet!

Leave a Reply

