She’s Crafty: The Post in Which She Paints a Picture.

Almost all our walls are blank. I have pictures, and Brendan has beautiful Chinese scrolls that he got when he studied abroad in China, but still our walls are mostly blank.  I have been wanting to print some of our wedding pictures out to hang on the walls, but we never seem to get around to it. I don’t know about Brendan, but I didn’t really want to buy impersonal prints that could be found on hotel walls and call it art.

That’s why when I saw this picture, I knew that I had to recreate it.

This is such a simple and honest picture.  Not only is it so true, but it’s also a lyric from our song, “Home,” by Edward Sharp and the Magnetic Zeros.

We both loved the song when we heard it, and felt that it was true for us. Especially now that we are so far away from home, this song means more.  The funny thing is that my best friend Stephanie, who was our amazing DJ at our wedding played this song for us as we were getting ready to leave our wedding, without of ever having a discussion about how we loved “Home.”

I cried the whole way to the place we stayed on our wedding night.  Happy tears, but leaving home tears too. We flew out to New Jersey the next morning.

So far away from home and everything that was familiar and comfortable.  But Brendan is here, and we fill our home with laughter and love, and are making new memories.  I can honestly say that I do feel at home here, because Brendan is here. Brendan is my home.

Cheeeeeeeesy but so true.

So anyway, I’m going to find a nice piece of wood, sand it, spray paint it black, and stencil in the words and hang it in spot where I can look at it every day.

I hope to do this craft after I’m finished with my duvet- which will be in a couple of days probably.

xoxo,

Katie

One thought on “She’s Crafty: The Post in Which She Paints a Picture.

  1. Awww. I love Michael Buble’s “Home”. When I was studying abroad, just hearing that song can make me cry in an instant! Would love to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

